Photography as Abstract – Bread

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

I’m calling this an abstract, because, well, I am. It’s my blog and I’m allowed to. 😉

Anyhow, one time last fall, I took a trip to the Santa Fe Farmers’ Market and took some photos. I really like the photos I took. I haven’t shown many here though, and I’m not sure why.

Again, anyhow, (:  this is a photo of a bread stand. I used a very small aperture on my macro lens (f/3.2), and focused on some bread that wasn’t right in front of the camera. This meant that most of the photo is out of focus.

I like the way it turned out. There is something dynamic in the photo, and I like it. And again, it’s my blog, and I can post what I want. 😉

Bratty Katie is now off to take a nap. (: Hope you like the photo.

Shot with my 105mm macro lens at f/3.2.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on March 8, 2012.

20 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Bread”

  1. Mouth watering. Nice!

  2. Great DoF 🙂

  3. Beautiful. I love the way you see the world; it’s so interesting and new. I love the colors and the illusion of a landscape.

  4. Mountains of ripply goodness. Lovely!

  5. Katie, you have inspired me to make bread today!

  6. Good shot! I’m sure glad you put yourself down for a nap 🙂

  7. Well, like it too, Katie. Cheers for that! 😀 I especially like the colors here. The hint of blue and green makes it so, so, dynamic! 😀 DoF is brilliant.

  8. Nice 🙂

  9. Great photo. I agree on the abstract label, because if you hadn’t said it was bread, I’m not sure I would have recognized it as such. That makes it abstract in my books! Love the light in the background.

  10. Even as abstract, that looks soo delicious 🙂 I think I am a little bit hungry 🙂

  11. The “out of focus” effect works very well and in fact makes this a stronger image! Nice one, Katie!

  12. Like this, it’s so nice to see abstract shots, great Katie 🙂

  13. nice shot katie, loving that bokeh & light in the background too

  14. Very nice DOF 🙂

  15. Love it.
    I really like some of these ‘mostly out of focus’ shots even when I take them myself. Gives it almost the feeling of a painting (rather than a photo).

  16. Very nice!

  17. You’re funny!!!

  18. Out of focus! Another lesson from you 🙂

    Thank you!

  19. Katie..It might be your blog but you cant go around changing the definition of words simply because you feel like it…Get a grip!!
    Nevertheless thats a great pic of some bread you have there!!
    😉

Leave a Reply

 
