Signs of Autumn – Virginia Creeper (Creeping)

When I was out shooting at my friends’ property on Saturday, the husband suggested I photograph the Virginia Creeper as it was starting to turn its lovely shade of red. I had my macro lens with me, however, so I was more intent on doing close-ups of small things.

After photographing my small things, I put another lens on my camera and went to take a look at the Virginia Creeper. Most of it was in shade, so taking photos wasn’t ideal for me. However, I had an idea to take a photo where the Virginia Creeper actually looked like it was creeping, and I found the perfect shot for this.

To me, in this photo, the plant reminds me of a spider, creeping its way over the wood fencing. I love the slight shading and the barely there sunlight on the leaves. It gives the photo such a soft look, yet still enough shadowing/contrast to make it interesting. Β And that softening makes it less intense, like a nice spider creeping towards you. πŸ™‚

Image Copyright Β© Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on September 19, 2011.

12 Responses to “Signs of Autumn – Virginia Creeper (Creeping)”

  1. Concept shots are among my favorites! Lovely photo and I see the spider loud and clear.

    • Thank you so much, Joel! I’m so glad you could see the photo the way I did. Sometimes, you wonder, you know? πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for your support, and still loving that Canada Geese shot of yours! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for visiting my blog… I am glad you did because now I have checked your photos… amazing work.. you have a great eye for capturing the perfect photo.

  3. Beautiful, innovative pics!

  4. On this cool, damp, cloudy Autumn morning here in Canada, this bright warm fall photo gave me that cozy fall feeling. Thanks for that Katie!

    • Ah, glad that you this photo brought you a cozy feelings, Charleen. I love to hear of the effect of my photos. Stay warm! Oh, and send me some of that weather. I need to go and shoot some more graveyards. πŸ™‚

  5. Good balance in the photo. The red is beautiful!
    I see in your “about” that you do little in Photoshop. I think I might be addicted to Lightroom (eek!)

    • Thanks for your comment about the balance! I loved how the red turned out, it was so soft compared to where some of the creeper was in full sun, which had already turned a deeper red.

      Yep, in these photos that I do for myself, I try to do very little in Photoshop. I use Photoshop a lot in my pro work (architecture), so I really try to get out of that mode with all it’s straight and level lines, etc., and just see if I can do it all with my camera. This does not mean I don’t do the raw processing though. as I do do that, and sometimes more on some photos than others.

      Oh, Lightroom! I have that on my computer, but it’s not the way I work with my architecture photos, so I don’t really use it. Maybe I should go to it for these photos, since they are just easily processed. Thanks for putting that thought into my head !?? πŸ™‚

  6. I really loved the light playing on the leaves and the delicate shadow created by them. Autumn leaves are one of my favorite subjects to photograph because there are so many tiny nuances within the colors, the veins of the leaves, etc. Thanks for sharing this, I can see I’m going to be spending some time here… πŸ™‚

    • Thank you so much for your take on this photo. I totally agree about autumn leaves, and autumn in general outside in nature. So many different nuances, and then add in the strength of the sun, or non-strength, and things just change so much. Love your point of view!

Leave a comment