Photography as Abstract – Looking into the Eye of ….

Here’s another of the abstracts I’ve been doing. If you want to see the other images/posts in the series, please click here and here.

This photo was taken earlier in the winter. I was out walking the alleyways near my home and noticed that most of the snow had melted. I passed this old wheel that I had seen so many times, and honestly, I never really liked it much. But the snow on the wheel on this day attracted my attention, so I decided to see if I could get an interesting photo.

And I think I did. And now I kind of like this old wheel. 🙂

Shot with my 35 -70 mm lens at f/2.8.

Image Copyright © Katie Johnson. All Rights Reserved.

~ by KatiesCameraBlog on February 21, 2012.

28 Responses to “Photography as Abstract – Looking into the Eye of ….”

  1. The details in the wood really stand out, nice! 🙂

  2. Really interesting! Great shot, Katie. 🙂

  3. I like it Katie. Looks like an eye staring back at you.

  4. He’s staring at me. Love the feel of it.

  5. Makes me think of a primitive version of HAL from 2001: space odyssey. Nicely seen.

  6. Love the texture. Yotaki Beautywalk

  7. It could be an eye, camera lens, a speaker or a carriage wheel. Whichever, it’s beautifully placed in your frame!

  8. Very interesting photo. I like how the wheel is off center. I also think it is interesting that your f stop was 2.8. I haven’t gone below 5 before and think I will give it a try.

  9. You always create a surprise… I didn’t expect to find this wheel 🙂 I was expecting to find a cat or a dog… You are amazing with your camera and also with your creative title! I loved it. Nothing can be ordinary if it is captured by your camera! Thank you dear Katie, with my love, nia

  10. You really showcase that part of our country 🙂
    Wonderful shot!

    🙂

  11. I like this shot, Katie. The contrast of the fencing with the spokes of the wheel are pleasing to the eye. Great shot!

  12. It reminds me of looking into a camera lens! Interesting shot katie.

  13. Very nice!

  14. Great one 🙂

  15. Great composition Katie! I agree, the snow adds a lot to the photo. But what’s not to like about old wheels? They’re so… round! 🙂

  16. This is a nice shot, Katie. I must admit, that all your lovely abstracts inspire me vrey much! I just posted another “Aussie abstract” 😉

  17. Excellent! I thought it was an eye of a spider, LOL.

  18. I love the lines and composition of this shot and how the little mound of snow just tops it off! : )

  19. Oh My!! This Looks like something off of “Johnny Quest”, an old action cartoon, that I used to watch when I was around 9 or 10 yrs. old!! It , to me, looks like a “Daddy Longleg” spider!! In “Johnny Quest” the ” Mechanical Robot Spider” had One Eye!! Eerie!! The “eye” in the middle looks like a piece of Glass?! What is it??

  20. I use to collect these and have some beautiful daffodils in front of some from my first real yard. I ought to pull them onto Etsy
    I love the marble in the hub
    peace n abundance,
    CheyAnne
    http://cheyannesexton.etsy.com

  21. Love the lines

  22. Isn’t it interesting that when we interact with something and find how beautiful it can be we then appreciate it. I love the way you found something interesting with the wheel and then shared it with us. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on it, also. Your insights have made me stop to consider that there is value in those things (and, by extension, people) I don’t really like as long as I take time to get to know them.

  23. Great shot Aunt Katie…it looks like a monster eye!!

  24. This one has a really arresting quality — I found myself studying it the way I would a painting in a museum. For a still life/abstract, there’s a lot going on.

  25. Very cool effect, capturing the focus the way you did. The hub looks alive.

    And there within the center hub
    Was an unblinking eye;
    I thought it might be full of life,
    But it was only sky.

  26. I like the shapes in this. And then …there’s this little blip of snow! Lovely!

  27. Great abstract!

Leave a comment